Testimonials | The Funktion NJ Wedding Band, NYC Wedding Band

Professional party planners choose Funktion time and time again to bring the high energy atmosphere that wows our demanding, high-profile clients. That is also why planners hire Funktion for their company meetings and gatherings. Large public events, festivals and concerts have also solidified a legion of loyal fans. Crowds are drawn to the band, making them a popular club, concert and festival ticket. Consider this great band for your NJ or NY wedding.
We are happy to provide references upon request. Please don’t take our word for it,  There are many! see below!

 

Reviews: 

Our guests felt the same way, and loved the high energy and great flow of it all! It’s what a wedding should be (or at least what we wanted it to be), which is a major dance party! smiles forever!!!
 Adi Groezinger Tierney
 
 

Hi Ken and Everyone in Funktion,

 Just getting to all my emails, sorry I’m a day late.  First day back is always a crazy one. I can’t begin to thank you all enough for knocking the socks off of everyone in the room.  The raves are coming back and folks had an amazing time.  The music was fantastic and the entire group were just an absolute delight to have there and work with.  We look forward to having you again next year and will confirm at our wrap up meeting next week.

 Ken….Thanks for the dance.  It was great.

My best,

Irene G.    Jawonio Gala  10/17/15

 

Thank you, and the whole band, for the best party of our lives! I don’t think I’ve ever seen my parents have that much fun as they did on the dance floor while you guys played. Every song was fantastic, and we got so many great compliments from our guests on you guys – including from one couple who’s getting married in August, I think they got your business card!

You were so easy and pleasant to work with, which made the whole wedding planning process a bit less stressful. We will be singing your praises for years to come! Let us know if you ever want us to serve as a reference for you guys – we’d be happy to!

Cheers!
Megan and Jake  10/3 /15  Stone House at Sterling Ridge

 

The key ingredients for a successful affair is great music and great people. Function provides the ” great ” for the music. The venue can be anywhere. The food can be hotdogs and hamburgers. Just hire Funktion and you’ll be set. They are the best band ever. The compliments did not stop coming. Funktion hit the ground running and never stopped. They knew what to play and when, so they kept the energy up and people danced all night long. The band manager was a pleasure to deal with before the event. He was available for helping to plan the music selection. and timing . He was attentive to all of our needs, regardless of how many questions we asked. At Reeds South 9/18/2015 Judy Rosenblum

 

Hi Ken,
It has been a blissful whirlwind of a few weeks, but we are finally back to reality and catching up on life, emails, etc.
We want to thank you and everyone else in The Funktion for truly making our wedding PHENOMENAL. You surpassed all of our expectations!! Starting with your rendition of U2’s “All I Want is You” for our first dance, which Ross and I continue to talk about because it was (I can’t believe I’m saying this…) BETTER than the original, you continued to nail every song throughout the night. Other highlights were Sledgehammer, I Wanna Dance with Somebody , and of course, Shut Up and Dance. Honestly, every song was fabulous, and the entire band had an energetic, fun-filled, entertaining presence. There was never a dull moment, and the dance floor was packed all night. We are still hearing comments from guests about how awesome you were, and many have asked for your contact info for their future events.
Ken, we can’t thank you enough for truly understanding our vision and making it a reality. You and the band members made our wedding the most amazing night of our lives.
All the best, and we do hope to get to dance to you guys again soon!!!
Risa and Ross Fridy 9/26/15
P.S. Forgot to mention the fabulous music before and during the ceremony!! Many guests have also complimented your musical rendition of Ripple, among others. Perfection!

 

BEST. BAND. EVER. We could barely get our guests to sit down for dinner! They were having too much fun! The minute the band started playing, the guests started dancing. It was an unbelievable night and the band was absolutely fantastic. If you like great music, fun dancing and happy guests, do yourself a favor and hire them! Thank you to The Funktion for a great evening! Everyone keeps raving about how great you were. Thank you!

9/19/15  Zonda Zochorow

 

 

”The Funktion was absolutely magnificent!!!!! Everybody, all 180 people at our wedding loved what they were playing and wanted to know how I found them!!!! Many of the guests took the bands number down for future events. The band played such great music and all so danceable. They had young teenagers as well as middle aged people up to in their 80’s all dancing!! I would highly recommend anyone wanting a great band for their party or dance to book The Funktion…….you and your guests will be sooooooooo delighted!!!!! The band members are all so friendly!! They are dependable and not a better band anywhere!!!!!! We are looking forward to having them back for some more parties!!!!! Thank you so much for making our party such a huge success!!!!!! Our whole family thanks you all!!!!!!”

Cheryl and Kyle D.  
9/12/15

 

Amazing Band!!

Reviewed On 5/31/2015 Stephanie M

I can’t say enough good things about this band!! From the very first time I talked to Ken, he was professional, helpful and very responsive. The months leading up to the wedding included picking the set lists and what not to include–he made it all a breeze. They did everything they said they would do with very little direction which allowed me to enjoy my wedding hassle-free. And can I tell you how amazing they sounded?! Everyone was asking who the band was because they were so amazed at how great they were. People were dancing from the first song and didn’t sit down the whole wedding! It was money well spent and I would hire them again in an instant. Thanks Ken for making my wedding the best it could be!

 

Out of this world!!!!

Reviewed On 5/05/2015

We looked at many from this site and all seemed pretty much the same and way too expensive. Then we saw the Funktion live. They were great with us and did not pressure us. We were very comfortable enjoying their company after a show they did in November. When they say world class – it is for real!!! Blew us away when we saw them in November and then for our big day on March 7th!!

 
Totally Terrific! Hire them! posted 2/24/2015

It was if we were dancing to Stevie Wonder, Pink, Sly and The Family Stone, Bruno Mars… all at the same time-live!! The repertoire is so deep – there was nothing they could not play. We are so happy to have chosen The Funktion for our wedding! They sound like no one else – unique and just superb. Service from our first email to my review has been just the best and remarkably easy. Personal, caring, and the singers are just the best I have ever heard. Many thanks to them for making My and Morgans’ day THE BEST! Thanks Funktion band!!

Feb 7 – Central Park Boat house

  •  
    avatar
    Knottie11763930

    Wedding: 12/13/2014
    Member Since: 1/10/2015

     
     5 Stars
    Love them!!!!!!!!    posted 1/10/2015

    The Funktion was absolutely a delight to work with! From the first call to the call a week after my wedding- just spectacular. We chose them because they have an amazing sound and their price was almost half of the rest…and to Justin and I sounded so much better!!! Ken’s process for getting to know you, whats important to you for your wedding and what kind of music you want is impeccable. So after a great experience leading up to the wedding, our expectations were HIGH – very high! which we felt was impossible to match..And they exceeded them tenfold. Love them love them love them..if you need a great band- call The Funktion. Christine and Justin 

     
     
  • avatar
    colbeans21

    Wedding: 10/11/2014
    Member Since: 2/3/2008

     
     5 Stars
    The Funktion was the BEST!    posted 10/31/2014 (updated 11/1/2014)

    I found The Funktion online and had my parents go check them out since I live out of state. They were blown away by their performace at a wine festival and they brought the same awesome energy to my wedding! Everyone was on the dancefloor all night! They were the best! Ken is so awesome and sweet to work with too- I’d recommend them to anyone looking for a wedding band in NJ or surrounding area! 

  •  
    avatar
    Knottie83384764

    Wedding: 10/3/2014
    Member Since: 10/29/2014

     
     5 Stars
    Nothing Better    posted 10/29/2014

    I wanted to just say this was the greatest event of my life.. Not only due to the fact that this is my wedding.. Due to the entertainment was simply on another planet..Everything was amazing -out of this world good!! The Funktion is so fantastic and some of the nicest people-we wanted them to join us for drinks afterwards!! Thank you Funktion!!!!! Annie

     
  •  
    avatar
    Knottie38928873

    Wedding: 9/6/2014
    Member Since: 10/12/2014

     
     
    It was amazing!    posted 10/12/2014  5 Stars

    My Fiancee and I heard about the The Funktion from a friend who lives in NYC. Everyone was ecstatic and when they performed at our wedding a few weeks ago. The joy amongst our family and friends was 10 times what we could have dreamed! We dealt with Ken in the band and he was super responsive and professional throughout the whole booking/planning process. We hated the idea of booking a band through a booking agent and having zero contact with the musicians throughout the booking process. We had Kens cell phone number and he would happily step away from what he was doing to answer our questions. About a month before our wedding, Ken called us to run through the schedule from top to bottom and went through every little detail thoroughly. This was awesome

    They had EVERYONE on the dance floor and their song selection was perfect !!!!!

     
     
  • avatar
    Knottie05876402

    Wedding: 9/20/2014
    Member Since: 9/22/2014

     
     5 Stars
    Just awesome    posted 9/22/2014

    The Funktion came recommended to us by one of our bridesmaid’s sisters. She had nothing but great things to say about her own experience with them. We agree! From the start organization and package detail was helpful in deciding what we needed for the night of our wedding. Ken was our band leader the night of and we just had the best time. He kept the night moving but never made us feel like we were being rushed from one thing to another. Additionally, he learned a few Phish songs which he and the band played during our dinner (my husband’s favorite band). This helped add just a little personal touch to our celebration. We received SO many compliments on the band! Just The Best

     
      
  •  
    avatar
    Knottie46873925

    Wedding: 7/25/2014
    Member Since: 9/10/2014

     
     5 Stars
    Awesome party!    posted 9/10/2014

    My job was to figure out entertainment and transportation . Thank you so much for making our wedding such a blast and me look great…lol People LOVED the band and you! We will recommend you to as many people as possible. Your band rocked the night, We can’t thank you enough for all your hard work!

     
  •  
    avatar
    cairnwood

    Member Since: 5/13/2009

     
     5 Stars
    Amazing Band!    posted 9/9/2014

    I cannot say enough about the amazing performance from the Funktion at the Cairnwood Summer Wine Tasting. Our guests raved about the music and it blows my mind that you were able to get the crowd dancing. This band turned a simple wine tasting into a memorable party! Also – all of the band members are so professional, kind and easy to work with. It is refreshing to meet a group that you know is having fun and truly enjoying the event as much as we are. It truly was a magnificent night!

     
  •  
    avatar
    Srm8882

    Wedding: 6/9/2012
    Member Since: 11/7/2005

     
     5 Stars
    Awesome Band! Excellent Service.    posted 9/8/2014

    Our guests are still raving about the band – 2 years later. The ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception were executed better than I could have imagined and the Funktion worked with our DJ seamlessly. The thing I appreciated most was that they didn’t need much direction for me at a time when my other wedding vendors were asking a million questions. I just gave them the play/ don’t play list and they completely understood our vision. Also, I appreciated them learning our favorite songs as well. I booked the band based on the performance I experienced at the friend’s wedding, and the service experience provided for my wedding matched the amazing performance. We will be recommending the Funktion to all of our friends!

      
     
  •  
    avatar
    Knottie72835321

    Wedding: 4/4/2014
    Member Since: 9/8/2014 

     
     5 Stars
    My daughter and Son-in-law’s wedding in Asbury Park April ’14    posted 9/8/2014

    At my daughter’s request (who had seen the Funktion before at a wedding) I went with this band and her rave reviews about them. I met Ken and he was agreeable and did everything we/ I wanted, including special songs. It was a bittersweet night as I had lost my mother the night before, and I was really just going thru the motions, but I can tell you that EVERYONE there,did nothing but DANCE and party the whole night which is what my daughter and son-in-law wanted. I’m not sure much of the food was eaten, because not many people were sitting down!!!!. At the end of the night, as people came up to thank my husband and I, they said it was the best wedding they had ever been to,because of the atomsphere the happiness all around, and the BAND!!! People actually asked who they were!! That tells you something. They are awesome. You will not regret it. Promise!!
    Marla & Jim

     
     
  •  
    avatar
    Knottie18526553

    Wedding: 4/19/2014
    Member Since: 9/5/2014

     
     5 Stars
    Blown away    posted 9/5/2014

    When you think you know music and how good a live experience can be – then listen and enjoy The Funktion. Our main goal was to have a blast at our wedding and we really wanted to see our guests enjoy themselves… boy, did they ever! The band was so talented,fun and energetic! The band is bad ass in the best sense of the expression!!.. didn’t want the party to end. 

    Louis and Katie 

     
  •  
    avatar
    Knottie99720458

    Wedding: 4/19/2014
    Member Since: 9/5/2014

     
     5 Stars
    MADE OUR NIGHT TRULY SPECTACULAR!    posted 9/5/2014

    If you are torn by the decision of hiring a band or not; all I can 
    say is HIRE THIS BAND! You will not be disappointed! 
    Ken and his team are 
    professional, organized, and take the time to get to know you as a 
    couple, what your likes and dislikes are, and really work to customize 
    your reception music. During the evening Ken told our 
    guests it would be the best wedding they had ever been to, and he was
    right! We actually got a thank you note from one of our guests telling 
    us how awesome our wedding was! The dance floor was packed the entire 
    evening.
    They exceeded our expectations and delivered a flawless, 
    UNFORGETTABLE event! 

    MADE OUR NIGHT TRULY SPECTACULAR!

    Patti and Josh

     
  •  
    avatar
    Knottie9737383

    Wedding: 5/31/2014
    Member Since: 9/5/2014

     
     5 Stars
    Absolutely great    posted 9/5/2014

    THANK YOU – The Funktion Band made our night truly spectacular. We had 
    an absolute blast, and our guests could not stop talking about how great 
    you were, and how they had never heard a band play like that! Thank you 
    so much for your patience and for the wine, which
    was a great touch – it’s wonderful to have a physical reminder of both 
    the band and all our guests. We hope you are well and that we’ll cross 
    paths again at some point. Thanks again, and have a great summer!

    Chris and Julia

  •  
     
    avatar
    sweetegybabe

    Wedding: 4/29/2012
    Member Since: 8/2/2010

     
     
    awesome    posted 5/30/2012

    they did a good job

     
  •  
     
    avatar
    dpainchaud

    Wedding: 10/15/2011
    Member Since: 11/14/2010

     
     5 Stars
    Our wedding – 10.15.2011    posted 10/30/2011

    So many good things to say about this band. They were awesome. They had everyone dancing all night long!! We couldn’t have picked a better band for our wedding!!

     
     

————————————————- 

The wedding day surpassed anything we could have hoped for. If I had a dollar for everytime someone came up to us during the reception and raved about the band I could pay off all my student loans. you are all true artists and you made the night special for us in every way. People were so impressed with everything you did from the song selections, to singing, to dancing, to your energy, to how late you played, and your incredible sound. Be proud of what you all have put together because I believe you are the best out there based on other weddings I’ve been to and what all my family and friends said as well. I will look forward to calling you again for other parties down the road…and I’m sure others will as well
Terrence and Danielle G, Philadelphia  October 18  2014
 
 
 
Words can not express how much I enjoyed ‘grooving’ to The Funktion Band at The Festival by the Sea event on Saturday, September 20 at Point Pleasant Beach, NJ.
 
Their individual talents are remarkable, together they are spectacular. From old school funk, to new school pop, the band played it all – and they played it very well! Their joyful energy electrified the crowd and had many, if not all, people dancing to their funky tunes. WHO NEEDS A RADIO WHEN YOU HAVE THE FUNKTION BAND?!?!
 
It was a blessing to have the opportunity to hear and dance to The Funktion Band on that special day; it was by far the best part of my day. Upon finishing their time on stage, I stood around to meet the team of highly passionate and enthusiastic musicians. They gave me their business card and I noticed something that made me smile; their mission is to move people! On Saturday, September 20 at Point Pleasant Beach, NJ, The Funktion Band completed their mission by moving hundreds of people through their collective, positive, electrifying spirit.
 
THANK YOU Funktion Band for making my day, and THANK YOU Point Pleasant Beach for making it possible.
 
Sincerely,
 
A Sanchez
 
———————————————————-

From our newest friend and fan!

Good evening ladies and gentlemen!

My name is Coach Champ. Today, I attended the Festival by The Sea 9/20/2014 and was blessed with the opportunity to get to hear your band play, and your energy had me moving while you all were grooving! I was the gentlemen with the red shirt dancing in front of the stage!

I just want to take this time to thank you all once again for your joyful energy; it was electrifying!!!!! Getting the chance to listen and dance to your band was the best part of my day.

Continue to work together and move the people, you all have what it takes!!!

Once again, thank you!

Sincerely,
Coach Champ
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Coach-Champ

 ————————————————————–

If you are torn by the decision of splurging on a band or not; all I can say is spend the money and HIRE THIS BAND!  They are better than everyone I have seen and a cost little less!! You will not be disappointed! Ken truly went out of his way to get to know us. He and his team are professional, organized, and take the time to get to know you as a couple, what your likes and dislikes are, and really work to customize your ceremony and reception music. During the evening Ken told our guests it would be the best wedding they had ever been to, and he was right! We actually got a thank you note from one of our guests telling us how awesome our wedding was! The dance floor was packed the entire evening: They did it all from funk to Sinatra to Katie Perry.  The band well exceeded our expectations and delivered a flawless, UNFORGETTABLE event that will be talked about for years to come! Thank you for a memorable event!

Tom and Amanda,

7/28/2014

————————————————————————-

We hired The Funktion band for our wedding in May. When I went to meet with Ken I felt like it was too good to be true. The prices were negotiable and he just seemed perfect!!! He was open to all of our ideas and song choices we had in mind. He was also great with advice when we weren’t sure what to play at certain moments in the night. After the meeting, we went on YouTube to listen to samples. Honestly, it’s hard to tell how good a band is online, their live videos are incredible! When the wedding day came and we heard the band live, it was truly amazing! To our amazement, people were getting up on the dance floor within minutes of the reception. They began with a great some great motown that really pulled everyone onto the dance floor and let everyone loosen up before the night began. Throughout the night, our guests continuously told us how much fun they were having and how amazing the band was that we picked. They even asked for the band’s information for their future events. To this day, many of our friends and family still talk about the music they heard that day.

Stan and Julia Biscoff

5/30/2014

———————————————————————–

What a wedding we had! If we could do it over and over again we would and every time we would definitely have Funktion  run the party! You want to give your business to someone who is conscientious and altruistic and Ken is just that guy! He brings 100% and more to the table going out of his way to make sure that everyone at the event is having a wonderful time. Everyone had a blast dancing right up to the very end of the night!  I highly recommend The Funktion !!!!

J Boliek, Cairnwood 6/7/2014

———————————————————————–

I have to say thank you again for your performance yesterday at the Highlands Elementary School Fair! You looked and sounded amazing!!! Not only were you all phenomenal musicians your production company was exemplary!!! Thank you so much again and again!!! Kindest regards, The Highlands PTO:) 6/21/2014

———————————————————————-

This band is GREAT! All throughout our planning process, Ken was so helpful. We were able to see him at another wedding before signing our contract which was awesome. He was always very responsive to my emails and we had a great meeting with him before the wedding. The day of we got so many compliments on the band, their energy and the singer. We did the song “All of Me” by John Legend as our first dance song and the singer sounded exactly like him, it was amazing! The band had such high energy -we had a blast with them all night. This band will not let you down! They made our wedding reception perfect. We cannot thank them enough for all they did!

Rebecca and Charles 8/30/2013

—————————————————————
 
Hi Ken

We just got back from our honeymoon and I felt compelled to write you immediately to let you know how completely blown away we were by you and your band. You guys were seriously incredible – not only did you sound amazing, but the energy and enthusiasm you had was unbelievable. You guys totally rocked our wedding and words cannot fully express how thrilled we were to have you there. You completely exceeded our expectations, and believe me, they were high!

Even though our wedding was almost 3 weeks ago, we are STILL getting tons of raves about you from our guests. Many said you were by far the best band they have ever seen. Period.

We will definitely HIGHLY recommend you to any one looking for a band, and feel free to use us as a reference.
Best of luck to you in the future and thanks again!

Carter and Kim 1/4/2014

 
——————————–

THE FUNKTION BAND LIGHTS UP THE SILK CITY
The corner of Main and Ward Streets in Paterson, New Jersey, was transformed into a festive atmosphere of carnival rides, food booths, and vendors. Stores stretching down both venues offered sidewalk sales, and more. Literally thousands of area residents filled the streets, in anticipation of the annual, 4th of July, fireworks display. At center stage was the large band shell from which music had been played, a magician had performed, and even Uncle Sam on stilts had danced.
As the high heat and humidity continued to hover, few noticed as the final band for the evening set up. Most were preoccupied with searching for a cold drink, or simply counting away the time until the pyrotechnic finale. Some that did notice more music on the way, may have, a la, Simon Cowell, thought, “This will be just another karaoke or cruise ship band.”
Nothing from the above could be farther than the truth. From the very first note, in appearance, style, and sound, the Garden State’s own, “The Funktion Band”, literally brought the house down, or should it be said, intersection.
September 14. 1968, marked the first episode of, what would turn out to be, one of the most iconic television shows in history. Often referred to as a, “counter-culture, hippie, undercover cop show,” the series featured three, soon to be superstar, household names-Julie, Pete, and Linc played by Peggy Lipton, Michael Cole, and Clarence Williams III. The trio soon became idols of virtually every teenager in America, not to mention many adults. The show was appropriately entitled, “The Mod Squad.” The hip threesome literally redefined the word, “cool”.
Fast forward to Independence Day, 2013. The moment The Funktion Band took stage, comparison to The Mod Squad was inevitable. The only difference was the players sang, danced, and sported microphones, rather than chased bad guys.

Early on, The Funktion rolled the musical dice by taking a calculated risk. The bass boomed the unmistakable beat of Michael Jackson’s signature hit, “Billie Jean”. Improving on any Michael Jackson song is virtually impossible. Doing such is considered, by many, as almost sacrilegious. However, The Funktion’s version did better than just shoot par. Somehow, frowns and furrowed brows of traditionalists were not only avoided, but seemingly everyone enjoyed the rendition.
Centerpiece was female vocalist. Her counterparts were singers Chandler and Randy. A full band of trumpets, saxophone, keyboard, and drums, completed the harmonious scenario.
She immediately captivated the crowd with her magnetic stage presence. Sporting a vivacious, contagious smile, she quickly conjured up an even closer comparison than that of Peggy Lipton. Funktion’s lead female vocalist could easily be referred to, as, “the second coming of Janet Jackson”. No doubt about it, Ms. King looks like Janet Jackson and moves like Janet Jackson. The only question remaining was soon answered. Ms. King, also, sounds like Janet Jackson. Whether taking lead or back-up, whether with alto or soprano, her vocals seemed to fit every song occasion, as well as Michael’s trademark, white glove.
Not to be outdone, Ms. King’s stage partners would also, certainly, be voted on to Hollywood. Perhaps the biggest surprise of the night was Chandler. The tall drink of water sported dark pants with matching vest, complimented by a metal, silver, chain, stretching from hip pocket to belt buckle. Add shoulder length hair, comparison to the quintessential, 70’s mainstream rocker, was in order. One could even imagine Blake Shelton’s chair turning around, claiming Chandler for a country prize. However, neither of the former proved most accurate. Chandler’s rich, deep vocals, amazing range, and ease of movement, left only one conclusion, “This man is a true soul singer.” As if walking out of a 1967 recording session with Otis Redding, at Stax Records, in Memphis, Chandler belted out hit after hit. Icing on the cake was provided with his amazing, falsetto rendition of Prince’s, “Kiss”.
Last but not least, Randy, seemed most natural with R&B and Soul selections. Silk shirt and slacks were complimented by a dapper cap, bringing on night shift visions of Marvin Gaye. Such was underscored by Randy’s lead of the Master of Motown’s smash number, “Let’s Get It On.” However, Randy also proved he could turn on his inner Rick James with several funk numbers, including, “Fire”, by the Ohio players.
Not mentioning the choreography of King, Chandler, and Randy, would definitely leave an incomplete picture. The three often swinged and swayed as if not only being in Paterson, but in Detroit, as well. Of particular note was the chemistry between King and Chandler. The pair played perfectly off each other, as if by telepathic communication.
No true funk band would be complete without a brass section. James and Ken with trumpets, and Doug on saxophone, converged at just the right moments. Drummer was steady throughout, accentuating each, and every, genre played. A smooth keyboard was also a constant presence.
Fitting crescendo for the evening were the beautiful fireworks and The Funktion’s universal language of, “We Are Family”, by Sister Sledge.

Ed Rumley, Paterson Press July 9. 2013

Photo: THE FUNKTION BAND LIGHTS UP THE SILK CITY<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
      The corner of Main and Ward Streets in Paterson, New Jersey, was transformed into a festive atmosphere of carnival rides, food booths, and vendors.  Stores stretching down both venues offered sidewalk sales, and more.  Literally thousands of area residents filled the streets, in anticipation of the annual, 4th of July, fireworks display. At center stage was the large band shell from which music had been played, a magician had performed, and even Uncle Sam on stilts had danced.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
     As the high heat and humidity continued to hover, few noticed as the final band for the evening set up.  Most were preoccupied with searching for a cold drink, or simply counting away the time until the pyrotechnic finale.  Some that did notice more music on the way, may have, a la, Simon Cowell, thought, “This will be just another karaoke or cruise ship band.”<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
   Nothing from the above could be farther than the truth.  From the very first note, in appearance, style, and sound, the Garden State’s own, “The Funktion Band”, literally brought the house down, or should it be said, intersection.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
    September 14. 1968, marked the first episode of, what would turn out to be, one of the most iconic television shows in history.  Often referred to as a, “counter-culture, hippie, undercover cop show,” the series featured three, soon to be superstar, household names-Julie, Pete, and Linc played by Peggy Lipton, Michael Cole, and Clarence Williams III.   The trio soon became idols of virtually every teenager in America, not to mention many adults.  The show was appropriately entitled, “The Mod Squad.”  The hip threesome literally redefined the word, “cool”.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
    Fast forward to Independence Day, 2013.  The moment The Funktion Band took stage, comparison to The Mod Squad was inevitable.  The only difference was the players sang, danced, and sported microphones, rather than chased bad guys.  </p><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
<p>     Early on, The Funktion rolled the musical dice by taking a calculated risk.  The bass boomed the unmistakable beat of Michael Jackson’s signature hit, “Billie Jean”.  Improving on any Michael Jackson song is virtually impossible.  Doing such is considered, by many, as almost sacrilegious.  However, The Funktion’s version did better than just shoot par.  Somehow, frowns and furrowed brows of traditionalists were not only avoided, but seemingly everyone enjoyed the rendition.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
     Centerpiece was female vocalist, Ms. Denise King.  Her counterparts were singers Chandler and Randy.  A full band of trumpets, saxophone, keyboard, and drums, completed the harmonious scenario.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
        Ms. King immediately captivated the crowd with her magnetic stage presence.  Sporting a vivacious, contagious smile, she quickly conjured up an even closer comparison than that of Peggy Lipton.  Funktion’s lead female vocalist could easily be referred to, as, “the second coming of Janet Jackson”.  No doubt about it, Ms. King looks like Janet Jackson.  Ms. King moves like Janet Jackson.  The only question remaining was soon answered.  Ms. King, also, sounds like Janet Jackson.  Whether taking lead or back-up, whether with alto or soprano, Ms. King’s vocals seemed to fit every song occasion, as well as Michael’s trademark, white glove.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
    Not to be outdone, Ms. King’s stage partners would also, certainly, be voted on to Hollywood.  Perhaps the biggest surprise of the night was Chandler.  The tall drink of water sported dark pants with matching vest, complimented by a metal, silver, chain, stretching from hip pocket to belt buckle.  Add shoulder length hair, comparison to the quintessential, 70’s mainstream rocker, was in order.  One could even imagine Blake Shelton’s chair turning around, claiming Chandler for a country prize.  However, neither of the former proved most accurate.  Chandler’s rich, deep vocals, amazing range, and ease of movement, left only one conclusion, “This man is a true soul singer.”  As if walking out of a 1967 recording session with Otis Redding, at Stax Records, in Memphis, Chandler belted out hit after hit.  Icing on the cake was provided with his amazing, falsetto rendition of Prince’s, “Kiss”.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
    Last but not least, Randy, seemed most natural with R&B and Soul selections.  Silk shirt and slacks were complimented by a dapper cap, bringing on night shift visions of Marvin Gaye.  Such was underscored by Randy’s lead of the Master of Motown’s smash number, “Let’s Get It On.”  However, Randy also proved he could turn on his inner Rick James with several funk numbers, including, “Fire”, by the Ohio players.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
        Not mentioning the choreography of King, Chandler, and Randy, would definitely leave an incomplete picture.  The three often swinged and swayed as if not only being in Paterson, but in Detroit, as well.   Of particular note was the chemistry between King and Chandler.  The pair played perfectly off each other, as if by telepathic communication.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
     No true funk band would be complete without a brass section.  James and Ken with trumpets, and Doug on saxophone, converged at just the right moments.  Drummer Frank, was steady throughout, accentuating each, and every, genre played.  A smooth keyboard was also a constant presence.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
    Fitting crescendo for the evening were the beautiful fireworks and The Funktion’s universal language of, “We Are Family”, by Sister Sledge.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
THE FUNKTION BAND LIGHTS UP THE SILK CITY<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
      The corner of Main and Ward Streets in Paterson, New Jersey, was transformed into a festive atmosphere of carnival rides, food booths, and vendors.  Stores stretching down both venues offered sidewalk sales, and more.  Literally thousands of area residents filled the streets, in anticipation of the annual, 4th of July, fireworks display. At center stage was the large band shell from which music had been played, a magician had performed, and even Uncle Sam on stilts had danced.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
     As the high heat and humidity continued to hover, few noticed as the final band for the evening set up.  Most were preoccupied with searching for a cold drink, or simply counting away the time until the pyrotechnic finale.  Some that did notice more music on the way, may have, a la, Simon Cowell, thought, “This will be just another karaoke or cruise ship band.”<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
   Nothing from the above could be farther than the truth.  From the very first note, in appearance, style, and sound, the Garden State’s own, “The Funktion Band”, literally brought the house down, or should it be said, intersection.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
    September 14. 1968, marked the first episode of, what would turn out to be, one of the most iconic television shows in history.  Often referred to as a, “counter-culture, hippie, undercover cop show,” the series featured three, soon to be superstar, household names-Julie, Pete, and Linc played by Peggy Lipton, Michael Cole, and Clarence Williams III.   The trio soon became idols of virtually every teenager in America, not to mention many adults.  The show was appropriately entitled, “The Mod Squad.”  The hip threesome literally redefined the word, “cool”.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
    Fast forward to Independence Day, 2013.  The moment The Funktion Band took stage, comparison to The Mod Squad was inevitable.  The only difference was the players sang, danced, and sported microphones, rather than chased bad guys.  </p><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
<p>     Early on, The Funktion rolled the musical dice by taking a calculated risk.  The bass boomed the unmistakable beat of Michael Jackson’s signature hit, “Billie Jean”.  Improving on any Michael Jackson song is virtually impossible.  Doing such is considered, by many, as almost sacrilegious.  However, The Funktion’s version did better than just shoot par.  Somehow, frowns and furrowed brows of traditionalists were not only avoided, but seemingly everyone enjoyed the rendition.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
     Centerpiece was female vocalist, Ms. Denise King.  Her counterparts were singers Chandler and Randy.  A full band of trumpets, saxophone, keyboard, and drums, completed the harmonious scenario.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
        Ms. King immediately captivated the crowd with her magnetic stage presence.  Sporting a vivacious, contagious smile, she quickly conjured up an even closer comparison than that of Peggy Lipton.  Funktion’s lead female vocalist could easily be referred to, as, “the second coming of Janet Jackson”.  No doubt about it, Ms. King looks like Janet Jackson.  Ms. King moves like Janet Jackson.  The only question remaining was soon answered.  Ms. King, also, sounds like Janet Jackson.  Whether taking lead or back-up, whether with alto or soprano, Ms. King’s vocals seemed to fit every song occasion, as well as Michael’s trademark, white glove.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
    Not to be outdone, Ms. King’s stage partners would also, certainly, be voted on to Hollywood.  Perhaps the biggest surprise of the night was Chandler.  The tall drink of water sported dark pants with matching vest, complimented by a metal, silver, chain, stretching from hip pocket to belt buckle.  Add shoulder length hair, comparison to the quintessential, 70’s mainstream rocker, was in order.  One could even imagine Blake Shelton’s chair turning around, claiming Chandler for a country prize.  However, neither of the former proved most accurate.  Chandler’s rich, deep vocals, amazing range, and ease of movement, left only one conclusion, “This man is a true soul singer.”  As if walking out of a 1967 recording session with Otis Redding, at Stax Records, in Memphis, Chandler belted out hit after hit.  Icing on the cake was provided with his amazing, falsetto rendition of Prince’s, “Kiss”.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
    Last but not least, Randy, seemed most natural with R&B and Soul selections.  Silk shirt and slacks were complimented by a dapper cap, bringing on night shift visions of Marvin Gaye.  Such was underscored by Randy’s lead of the Master of Motown’s smash number, “Let’s Get It On.”  However, Randy also proved he could turn on his inner Rick James with several funk numbers, including, “Fire”, by the Ohio players.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
        Not mentioning the choreography of King, Chandler, and Randy, would definitely leave an incomplete picture.  The three often swinged and swayed as if not only being in Paterson, but in Detroit, as well.   Of particular note was the chemistry between King and Chandler.  The pair played perfectly off each other, as if by telepathic communication.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
     No true funk band would be complete without a brass section.  James and Ken with trumpets, and Doug on saxophone, converged at just the right moments.  Drummer Frank, was steady throughout, accentuating each, and every, genre played.  A smooth keyboard was also a constant presence.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
    Fitting crescendo for the evening were the beautiful fireworks and The Funktion’s universal language of, “We Are Family”, by Sister Sledge.  </p><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
<p>Ed Rumley, Paterson Press  July 9. 2013

————————-

You are truly blessed accomplished musicians with an entertaining and engaging style-so much energy. We loved it! We kept thinking we would sit down but every song kept our feet moving and us singing along! M. Geary Denville NJ 7/4/13

——————–

We keep looking through friends pictures of our wedding to see all the funny moments. We’ve got pictures of the ceremony, the cocktail hour, first dance, father daughter dance and cake cutting. None of the actual party. Why? BECAUSE EVERYONE WAS DANCING! Surely a good problem to have. Everyone keeps raving about how great the band was. I’m still amazed that the Funktion could get people from 10 – 80 to dance to “Love Tran” and a Rihanna/Whitney Houston Mash Up. What a great experience with the Funktion!
Hope and Dave Barker-9/29/12

———————-

 “My husband and I hired Ken and The Funktion for our wedding in July, 2011. I found them online, listened and enjoyed, and then my husband and I went to see them at two very different venues, and met Ken both times. We knew immediately that they were what we wanted in a band for our wedding at the Molly Pitcher in Red Bank, NJ. Ken met with us several times at the venue, went over details with us both at our meetings, and over emails. They met our expectations and surpassed them. Everyone loved the band, the music, continue to compliment us on having such superb entertainment. We recently got our video from the reception, and young and old alike all were dancing, all night long. My parents, although in their 80’s, who love to dance, commented on how fabulous the band was. Our 14 year old daughter and her friends and their 40 something Moms also danced all night. Ken and The Funktion kept the party going, and appealed to everyone. They were professional, fun, and sounded spectacular. We will continue to seek them out at other venues, and will definitely have them entertain our friends and use them for momentous occasions in the future.

Keep up the fabulous music and thank you,

Melissa and Jeffrey Elmer”

———————

Hi Ken!

Happy New Year to you! Thank you so much and I certainly continue to refer you to our clients. Your band was great and it was such a pleasure working with you. Hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,
Lauren

Lauren Kauffmann
Banquet Manager
McLoone’s Rum Runner

Bunzel wedding 10/30/2011

——————–

Great band and easy to work with. Nice to work with a band that has a real sound and all your staff was pleasant and professional. Looking forward to doing more with you guys and gals!

Josh-Banquet Manager, The Palace at Somerset

10/09/2011 Gina and John S. – wedding
The Funktion was amazing and made our wedding reception a hit. From the very beginning, Ken was easy to work with and answered all questions that we had. The Funktion was able to play a wide variety of music and had people on their feet the entire night (which is exactly what we wanted!!) We’ve received countless compliments about the band from our friends and family; people who normally would never dance were up having a blast.

We can’t say thank you enough for making our night one to remember always!

Desiree & Ralph Henninger
October 15, 2011 – Aloft Mount Laurel

——————————

It was amazing how you guys picked up a tune as the DJ was fading out and sounded as good as the studio recorded version, with one difference-Real Live Energy!! Keep doing what you do!

Kathy,
North Jersey Democratic Committee 10/13/2011
Terrific job band!
That is the first time everyone(about all 1600 people) stayed to the end of the night. What a great fun band you have. Absolutely amazing.. People are still calling us about you. We have you for next year and 2013!! Looking forward to the next 3 years with you!! If you need a referral, please have anyone call me that is interested in the band!

Dominique P., North Bergen Mayors Ball and Fundraiser
The Venetian
10/13/2011

———————————

Dear Funktion,

Amazing work! Every one just talks about how terrific you are. Absolute pleasure to work with you! You are the band. We will be sending you pictures when we get back!

John and Gina

The Palace at Somerset, 10/9/2011

Wanted to thank you guys for rehearsing with me in doing that song for my daughter. It was amazing you opened up your home to me Ken. I think everyone should have live music at their events. Your vocalists were smoking as well as horns and rhythm, the guitarist was top notch. I will indeed recommend you guys to anyone seeking a great band. Your band made Ali’s wedding a huge success.

Francine, Mother of Bride 9/18/2011
Cape May Court House
Ken

 

Sorry for the expletive but you guys “F….IN” rocked the house. There is simply no other way to describe it! Thank you so much. You all made our day perfect!!

Shep Ashton, Groom-

9/10/2011 wedding, Ashton Farms, Califon NJ

 

You guys are unbelievable. Thank you so much. You made the party a smashing success!!

Alexandra and Jeff

9/9/2011 Larchmont Yacht Club

 

Ken

The band is superb. You raised the bar.

Crows Nest, 9/2/2011

 

The band was spectacular! The best wedding ever attended and folks in the music business that were from New Orleans stated that it was one of the best shows ever seen and they have seen thousands. Somehow you put on a fantastic show with Ailie and Shep as a part of it and I never seen Shep dance before. We cant thank you enough for an unbelievable day. I implore you to give my phone number to any one who might need a referral. Your versions of Edge Of Glory, Rollin In The Deep and Show plus pretty much everything else were worth the price of admission. Just spectacular!!

Bill Somers, father of bride

9/10/2011 Shep & Ailie’s wedding. Ashton Farms, Califon NJ

 

Dear Funktion,

Are you guys for real? I have never heard or seen a sound that good live in such a beautiful setting. Your vocalists are better than the best and I just want to say “Whitney who”? Stevie Wonder who? When you had my daughter come up and do a song with you it lit up the place like I have never seen. You moved the audience so much both fast and slow, you managed to make members of the US Marines cry!! So much of your attention was given to us that we feel we owe you!
See you guys where ever you might be and warmest wishes to great success in the future-you deserve it.!

Jeff E. and Melissa

Molly Pitcher Inn, 7/29/2011

 

Wow Ken!!

The band did an amazing job at The Greenbriar. You guys are simply terrific! Compliments are still pouring in 2 weeks later.

Our biggest thanks

Ed
Recreation and Event Director, The Greenbriar 4/15/2011

 

Dear Funktion Band,

You guys were incredible Friday night at The Cairnwood! I want to say that you and your band were absolutely terrific., exactly what I expected and then some. I would be happy to recommend you anytime…next event will be in the summer!  Everyone went Gaga over you! We definitely will be working alot together soon I hope.

Thanks again,

Shannon,

03/25/2011 The Cairnwood Spring Gala

——————————–

R. Cook
12/26/2010 Battery Park Gardens NYC Wedding

 

Hi Ken,
I just wanted to say thank you to you and the band for a wonderful evening. I couldn’t have imagined it any better. You guys were amazing; absolutely fantastic! People are still talking about how great you guys were. Thank you so much for making our night!

Jessica and David, The Vineyard Caterers, Albegogue, Long Island 11/6/2010

——————————

Dear Ken,

Mark and I want to say we were blown away by the band last night!! YOU GUYS ROCK!! I
cant tell you how many of our guests told us that by you are the best band they ever heard. Of course, you
already know that but its worth saying again. I wish I could throw another party just to have you guys do it again.

All the best,
Stacey and Mark. The Mansion, Bloomfield NJ 10/16/2010

 

Dear Ken,

We loved everything.! You guys made our wedding perfect. I want to have a party just so I can use you guys again. We could not have asked for a better band to make our day just right.
Our very best,
Michele and Matts’ wedding , Sea Isle City Yacht Club, 10/9/2010

 

Dear Guys,

I cannot say enough good things about the music at our wedding!! You completely exceeded our expectations and all my guests are raving about the band!! We wanted our wedding to be a party first and a wedding second and you helped make our vision a reality. Chris and I are so grateful to each band member for their talent and energy! I look forward to recommending you to others.

Nicole and Chris, 10/2/2010 wedding Sandy Hook National Park, NJ

 

Hey Ken ,

We had an absolute blast at Jillians’ wedding. My husband and I want to see you guys play in the future. Thanks for doing such an amazing job and we will definitely be recommending you to ALL our friends and family.

Jamie-Lynn
Wedding, 9/25/2010 Berkely Carteret Hotel, Asbury Park NJ

 

Hi guys,

Thank you again for a wonderful performance. Many people complimented on the music and I appreciate you working with us regarding space, location and great selections.

Amanda Z., Princeton University, Fritz Campus 10th Anniversary, 9/15/2010

 

Thank you for a Great Red Ball. We just had a board meeting this morning and everyone could not stop talking about you and raved over Funktion. Hope to see you soon!

Debbie H. Red Ball Gala, Barley Sheaf Farms, Holicong PA 9/11/2010

 

You guys were awesome, truly we received a ton of compliments on the music. I hope you guys enjoyed it, there were a ton of people dancing all over the property. We will be out to NJ to see you for a reprise!

Thanks again,

Trevor and Brandi, 8/21/2010 wedding at The Cairnwood, Bryn Athyn, PA

 

Hi Ken,
It was a pleasure working with you and your band. Probably the the best band we have ever heard. You reign supreme, in my esteem!! Bernadette, Jimmy Duffy’s Caterers

Wedding at The Cairnwood, Bryn Athyn, PA 8/21/10

 

Dear Ken,

Wow, the band of bands has arrived and is a must see. My wife and I have been following you for some time and the shows get better and better with a level of energy unsurpassed. Thanks for finally bringing it to the shore!!

Keith and Elaine P., Colts Neck NJ 6/3/10

 

Thank you to the band!!. We had an amazing time. Pam was thrilled to have such an amazing band for her surprise party. You guys were all great!! We will see you in the near future!!

Dr Glenn Stanislaus 6/5/10, Ceasars, A.C.

 

Hey Ken,
Thank you so much for playing our wedding. You really helped make it so personable. Thank you for playing with my brother and friend and for learning our ceremony music-and nailing our song. We looved the music and had sooo much fun dancing!! Please tell everyone in your band thank you!!
And thank you for being such a great person to work with!!

Love, Annie, Sebastion and Amy 5/29/2010 wedding

 

 

Ken
Thanks for meeting with us on Wednesday. It was very informative and shows that you take great interest in making sure the wedding reception is a great success. Your extra efforts are rare these days and is appreciated well beyond how I can express in words. We know even before the wedding, all will be excellent.
Deacon Donald

“Funktion commands a presence on stage all bands strive for. The energy, the sound, selections, and transitions keep the crowd on their feet beginning to end”
Ed Maier-Chico’s House Of Jazz, Asbury Park, NJ

 

Thanks to the entire Funktion Band for a real strong performance at The Borgata’s Event
Center on New Years Eve 2010. I look forward to future bookings with you!! Patte Rockwell
The Event Center at The Borgata, Atlantic City, NJ
Thanks, you guys were great!!. Everyone had a blast and couldn’t get off the dance floor! Kiki
Kiki T., City of Asbury Park NJ, Mayors Ball: 9/26/09

Thank you so much for making Patrick & Tina’s wedding such a great night!!! Everybody is raving about you!!! You really made our wedding an event we will remember as the music made it awesome. If anyone ever needs a great band that has real style and charisma, Funktion is it!!
You guys were great!!!!
Thanks for doing a wonderful job !The day went by way TOOOOOO fast!!! We’ll have to have another one soon that lasts longer .. maybe for our anniversary!! :)
9/12/09 Wedding, Dr. Frank and Kirsten V.

8/29/09 Wedding, Cape May NJ
Lili and Jeff beat the odds with Hurricane (or was it a Tropical Storm? Who knows?!?) Danny and had a beautiful beach-side wedding last weekend. Their ceremony was on the beach by the Grand Hotel,followed by the reception in the ballroom up on the top floor, with a stunning view of the coast. Lili and Jeff fit together so nicely, as seen in the images below. Lili is a giggler, and Jeff knows how together going! She had threatened to dig him a hole to stand in so that they would be close in height, so when we stumbled upon a pre-dug one during our photo shoot, obviously we had to take a photo! They opted to see each other before the ceremony and gave me complete control over when and where (LOVE that!) so we had plenty of time to take all the photos we needed. Lili’s maid of honor was her niece, and she wrote a beautiful poem for her speech. The cool dude in the hat with the groomsmen is her nephew. Jeff’s aunt performed their ceremony and there were gasps from the crowd when he broke the glass with his BAREFEET!!! I had the pleasure of working with videographer Andrew King of Stomping Bread Productions and kept the dance floor packed and wild all night!

 

THANK YOU FUNKTION FOR SUPPORTING OUR CAUSE !!!!
The American Diabetes Association would like to thank Funktion. Diabetes is close to their heart and instead of making
a profit for this event, they’re giving to our mission which is to prevent and cure diabetes and to improve the lives of all people a
ffected by diabetes.
GROUP MEMBERS

THE AMERICAN DIABETES ASSOCIATION THANKS YOU!!!!
Claire A. Ritenour
Marketing Manager
American Diabetes Association
Delmarva Region

Hey Guys,
You were awesome!!! Thanks again-you sure know how to rock, swing and play!
I’ll definitely keep you in mind for future events. Please keep me on your mailing list.
I’d like to keep informed so I can be a groupie!
All the best,
Ruthanne
Guinness Oyster Festival, September 14, 2008

 

On behalf of Michael and myself, I would like to thank you for the wonderful music that you provided for our ceremony on
October 4th. Your advice on selections was very much appreciated and each song you performed throughout our ceremony was absolutely perfect. I couldn’t have imagined it any better. You are a true professional and a joy to work with.
Thank you again for all your attention to our service. It helped to make our day so memorable
. Funktion is the best New Jersey Wedding Band!!
With much appreciation,
Laurie and Michael Philbin

 

Dear Funktion ,
My husband, Peter and I saw you tonight at the Florham Park Gazebo.We thought you were great!! And what a bundle
of energy and great moves is Denise! Great music guys!!
Peter and Jane M. 7/12/09

 

WOW!!!! What a great day. Just beautiful and everything sounded great. Thank you so much for making our day even more
special. Everyone has been complimenting us on the music. Couldn’t have asked for a better day.

Thanks again,
Greg and Katherine H. Bradley Beach ,NJ Wedding 10/11/08

 

Thank you for making our Red Ball evening an amazing success. Your band is (to put it to a musical theme) “Simply The Best!” Everyone raved about your performance. I look forward to working with you again.

Please extend our thanks to everyone.
Debbie Hays

 

To all who are looking for a great band,
Ken and crew are total professionals from booking to the performance. Ken made the entire even “easy” as he
dealt with the venue and got things done! The band…WOW!!! Funktion is incredible. They play everything and they
play it well. It was nice to see EVERYONE dancing and Funktion made our event fun and very interactive. I have
and will continue to recommended Funktion to anyone in search of a great band to play at their function
…simply great! John and Rose

 

From Wedding Wire:


4.9/5.0
    • Quality of Service: 4.7 
    • Responsiveness: 5.0 
    • Professionalism: 5.0
    • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Funktion was everything we had hoped for and more! If you’re thinking of chooseing a band for your wedding, look no further because Funktion is your answer. We had people dancing from the minute they started playing and were begging for more by the end of the night. I’m not sure anyone even had a chance to sit down, that’s how good the music was. Guests were raving about the band long after the wedding was over. Ken is super responsive and will work with you to make your wedding night perfect.

  • Wedding: 08/03/2013
Services Used: Band
Profile Picture
Private User
3 Reviews
 

5.0/5.0

    • Quality of Service: 5.0
    • Responsiveness: 5.0 
    • Professionalism: 5.0 
    • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

The Funktion is an outstanding band! I have never seen so many guests on the dance floor! 5 Stars all around!

  • Wedding: 2+ years ago
 
Services Used: Band
Profile Picture
Anonymous
1 Review
 

5.0/5.0

    • Quality of Service: 5.0
    • Responsiveness: 5.0
    • Professionalism: 5.0
    • Value: 5.0 
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We keep looking through friends pictures of our wedding to see all the funny moments. We’ve got pictures of the ceremony, the cocktail hour, first dance, father daughter dance and cake cutting. None of the actual party. Why? BECAUSE EVERYONE WAS DANCING! Surely a good problem to have. Everyone keeps raving about how great the band was. I’m still amazed that the Funktion could get people from 10 – 80 to dance to “Love Tran” and a Rihanna/Whitney Houston Mash Up. What a great experience with the Funktion!

  • Wedding: 09/29/2012
Services Used: Band
Profile Picture
Hope
1 Review
 

4.7/5.0

    • Quality of Service: 5.0
    • Responsiveness: 4.0
    • Professionalism: 5.0
    • Value: 5.0 
  • Flexibility: 4.5

The band was excellent! What a great night!

  • Wedding: 09/15/2012
Services Used: Band
Profile Picture
Michael
1 Review
 

4.9/5.0

    • Quality of Service: 5.0
    • Responsiveness: 4.5
    • Professionalism: 5.0
    • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

The Funktion Band was in one word AMAZING! My fiance and I really wanted an awesome band that would keep the party going and have all our guests dancing. I researched a LOT of wedding bands in the NJ/NYC area and I came across The Funktion online during my research. We watched a few of their video clips online and we were immediately hooked! They definitely stood out among all the other bands which seemed so similar. The Funktion has a unique edge to them, and every band member is extremely talented! Once we reached out and met with Ken the trumpet player, he was so easy to work with! We are both really into Music, and Ken worked with all our requests. They played such a variety of music that EVERYONE, I really mean everyone was on the dance floor the entire night!!! We actually wanted them to keep playing when the night ended, because the party was still going strong! Their brass section is second to none and the vocalists on point. The trombone player was the BEST and was dancing up a storm with us! Everyone said they were one of the best wedding bands they’ve heard. If I could do it again, I’d definitely hire the Funktion! You won’t be disappointed!

The Funktion Wedding and Dance Band responded with the following comments:

Awesome- Thank you Emily!! We had a wonderful time at your wedding! Best of luck to you and Brendan

Ken and The Band

  • Wedding: 09/01/2012
Services Used: Band
Profile Picture
Emily
8 Reviews
 

5.0/5.0

    • Quality of Service: 5.0
    • Responsiveness: 5.0 
    • Professionalism: 5.0 
    • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

The Funktion is a powerful dance band with a style all to themselves. I’ve had the opportunity to provide my services as Videographer and ended up with a demo I will use for my own use years to come. Shooting any live band is a large task at hand to achieve a polished product. The Function not only provided Energy, Stage Presence and flawless live sound, but also created a lively, fun, energetic ambiance in the room. A 
Great band for Any Party or Show!

  • Wedding: 09/01/2012
Services Used: Band
Profile Picture
Pamela
1 Review
 

5.0/5.0

    • Quality of Service: 5.0
    • Responsiveness: 5.0
    • Professionalism: 5.0
    • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Great Band. Everyone loved them!

  • Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Band
Profile Picture
Anonymous
1 Review
 

5.0/5.0

    • Quality of Service: 5.0 
    • Responsiveness: 5.0 
    • Professionalism: 5.0
    • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Ken, with the Funktion, was awesome to work with. From the beginning he was extremely responsive over email and when it came to work out the details for our wedding he was great. The music was extremely important at our wedding and we wanted everyone dancing the whole night and that’s exactly what we got! The energy the band brought was amazing and their sound was spot on. They had an eclectic mix of songs and were great about learning our requests. If you are looking for a band guests will be talking about for years after the big day the Funktion is the band!

  • Wedding: 06/23/2012
Services Used: Band
Profile Picture
Samantha
8 Reviews
 

5.0/5.0

    • Quality of Service: 5.0 
    • Responsiveness: 5.0 
    • Professionalism: 5.0 
    • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Our guests are still raving about the band. The ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception were executed better than I could have imagined and the Funktion worked with our DJ seamlessly. The thing I appreciated most was that they didn’t need much direction for me at a time when my other wedding vendors were asking a million questions. I just gave them the play/ don’t play list and they completely understood our vision. Also, I appreciated them learning our favorite songs as well. I booked the band based on the performance I experienced at the friend’s wedding last year, and the service experience provided for my wedding matched the amazing performance. We will be recommending the Funktion to all of our friends!

  • Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Band
Profile Picture
Anonymous
5 Reviews
 

5.0/5.0

    • Quality of Service: 5.0 
    • Responsiveness: 5.0 
    • Professionalism: 5.0
    • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

The Funktion was amazing and made our wedding reception a hit. From the very beginning, Ken was easy to work with and answered all questions that we had. The Funktion was able to play a wide variety of music and had people on their feet the entire night (which is exactly what we wanted!!) We’ve received countless compliments about the band from our friends and family; people who normally would never dance were up having a blast. 

We can’t say thank you enough for making our night one to remember always!

  • Wedding: 10/15/2011
Services Used: Band
Profile Picture
desireep831
5 Reviews
 

4.9/5.0

    • Quality of Service: 5.0 
    • Responsiveness: 5.0 
    • Professionalism: 4.5
    • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Awesome, amazing, wonderful band! Everyone was dancing before we even got into the room, and continued for the entire night. All my guests kept asking “How did you find them?” and raving about how great they were! Ken was helpful throughout the planning process and always responded quickly to any questions I had, he also was able to work with our budget, play a wide variety of music, and sing all of our special requests. The Funktion made my wedding the incredibly fun, more like a party (which is exactly what we were going for). They will work to make your wedding special and exactly what you want. If you watch them play you can really see they love what they do, they have fun, they bring high energy, smiles, great music, and you won’t be able to resist the urge to dance!

  • Wedding: 07/10/2011
Services Used: Band
Profile Picture
Jessica
5 Reviews
 

5.0/5.0

    • Quality of Service: 5.0
    • Responsiveness: 5.0
    • Professionalism: 5.0
    • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

The funkiest, most fun, and sensational band- a breath of fresh air and tired feet from dancing!

  • Wedding: 12/11/2009
Services Used: Band